THE DRIFTER CHRONICLES

City Girl Gone Wandering

Aloha Hawaii/Aloha Alaska

Ho'okena Beach

Ho’okena Beach

I am following the whales north, tracing their migration up to the frigid waters of a land I do not know.

Leaving Hawaii is an emotional feat. How does one walk away from a land filled with mountains, beautiful beaches, plunging cliff-sides, and seemingly endless lava fields? It is not easy. Leaving is never easy.

It is, however, necessary.

Honu

Hawaiian Green Sea Turtle Basking in the Sun

The time I’ve spent here–suspended on a mountain peak that rises above the ocean–has taught me vast lessons about myself and the world. Hawaii helps me to reconnect with my soul, to discover the softness that resides within.

American culture is hard and rocky, not unlike the A’a lava flows that make up much of this land. But Hawai’i is smooth and easy-going, more like the Pahoehoe flows that ease their way down the mountain. This island teaches me patience, kindness, and serenity. It teaches me to slow down and breathe in the air, to let go of the cynicism and jaggedness that the east coast has beaten into me.

Punalu'u Black Sand Beach

Punalu’u Black Sand Beach

Big Island is constantly evolving: Kilauea continues to produce new land, Mauna Loa looms with the promise of eruption, and even Hualalai is turning her head with anticipation of her next flow. The ocean washes away our beaches and then returns them to their grandeur. There is a persistent coming and going of life, a constant melding of creation and destruction.

Hibiscus Flower at Lava Tree State Park

Hibiscus Flower at Lava Tree State Park

Each person who spends time here comes away with their own experience of Hawaii. For some, it is a place of romance–a world in which their newly appointed marriage is solidified and sanctified. For others, it is a land of opportunity. I have known many who showed up here with a little bit of cash and a backpack, only to be taken in by the aina and bathed in her resources. For me, it has always been a place of purification–a land that cleanses me of my sins and baptizes me in salt water and papaya trees.

Wild Chicken Enjoying the Beach

Chicken on a beach

But one cannot exist in a state of constant cleansing. One must go out into the world and get some dirt under those finger nails, some mud on those boots. One must go and roll around and get filthy with the earth so that one can come back to the aina and once again feel pure.

“I’ll wash dishes for a quick cash binge until April comes and it’s into the wilderness again…”

Off I go, to the land of bears, moose, and glaciers. To a wilderness whose existence I cannot even begin to fathom. But I go with the pride of the land from which I come, and with the spirit of aloha resting soundly in my heart.

Backyard Beach Sunset

Aloha, Hawaii. Until we meet again. Mahalo. 

4 comments on “Aloha Hawaii/Aloha Alaska

  1. alohaina
    April 23, 2015

    How exciting! Alaska is lovely and you will find that it has its own unique and natural beauty. What part of AK are you headed to?

  2. deebeider
    April 24, 2015

    Aloha! I’m heading to Skagway for the summer. Very much looking forward to it. Have you been?

  3. alohaina
    April 25, 2015

    I worked two summers on a whale watching boat in Seward. If you ever get a chance to visit, I highly recommend it! Beautiful scenery and animals.

  4. deebeider
    May 19, 2015

    What company did you work for? I’m hoping to head back to Alaska next summer and am exploring different options! Would to spend my days with the whales.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 23, 2015 by in Musings, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
