THE DRIFTER CHRONICLES

City Girl Gone Wandering

Portland, Oregon

IMG_20140617_140726

Lushness abounds in this rainy Oregon town. Everything is green!

I have developed a crush on Portland in the last few days. It’s a beautiful little city where people go out of their way to be nice to you. Good coffee, good beer, good music. What’s not to like?

Except for the rain. Despite everyone’s proclamations that downpours are uncommon, and that this much rain in June is simply unheard of, Portland has been very very wet. That’s what makes it so green (which is wonderful) but sometimes you want a little bit of blue in your sky instead of a never-ending sheet of grey. The ability to walk around without having to run for cover every couple of hours would have been nice too, but I’ll take what I can get.

That said, watching the sky darken over the city from the top of Mount Tabor yesterday was magical. The thunder pounded so loudly that it sounded like it was echoing throughout an arena. I made it to the bus just as the rain began to pummel down from the sky. By the time I reached my transfer, the sun was out again. Then it poured, again, and then the sun came out… again.

This rain/sun/wet/dry/never-know-what’s-going-to-happen weather is why I could never live in Portland, but it’s certainly a delightful place to visit. This city gave me the opportunity to reconnect with an old dear friend, and to make a couple of new ones. I inhaled wonderfully clean air, drank freshly tapped beers, and ate some wonderful vegetarian food. This is a good town. A good, peaceful, marvelous town.

A restaurant that calls to me by name... twice!

A restaurant so made for me that it calls me by name… twice!

Oh, and for a place that proudly labels itself as weird, it was remarkably tame. Portland’s got nothing on the absolute madness that is NYC. Keep trying, Oregon. Maybe one day you’ll catch up to the in-your-face-crazy that my hometown pours into the world.

Next up: Seattle

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 17, 2014 by in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
