THE DRIFTER CHRONICLES

City Girl Gone Wandering

And… I’m In Hawaii!

Right now I am typing from an outdoor kitchen in the middle of the property owned by the Bed and Breakfast where I now work. I have been here for three days but it feels like longer. In fact, it feels like everything that was once my life (aka my life two weeks ago) has been eradicated. This is both good and bad. Good, because it’s what I wanted—an experience that would be the opposite of what I had previously known. Bad, because I have already lost all track of reality. Perhaps that is because I have spent the last few days in a whirlwind of travel and adventure.

I haven’t stopped moving since I got here. Yesterday, I had hoped to catch up on some work for the NYC job that I am still doing remotely from Hawaii, but then we ended up working a full day of manual labor—loading dirt into wheelbarrows and running it uphill to the area that will become the garden. I am building a garden. That’s crazy.

It was a long day. I worked harder than I I’ve ever worked in my life. But then we drove up to Kona in the back of my boss’ pickup truck and had a few beers at a bar/restaurant by the water. Something about watching the sun set over the Pacific with sand between your toes makes it all worth it—busted body and all.

DSC00661

Sunset from a beach bar in Kona

On Thursday, after a few hours of minimal work, I went to the beach with my coworker. Stunning rock cliffs lined the black sand beach, and whales danced in the water. It was cloudy and chilly but the ocean was calling our name so we spent a few hours splashing around in the waves, body surfing, making new friends.

At the bar last night, a few more whales bestowed us with their presence. WHALES. Actual live whales thriving in their natural habitat, putting on a show while I sipped an IPA. This is my life now. As hard as yesterday was, it was also beautiful. I am 26 years old and my body is strong and capable despite nine years of polluting myself with the various substances that occur in city life. I did things yesterday that I never thought I could do. I found strength reserves that I thought I had killed years ago. I am growing. Hard or not, that’s what I came here for.

At this point, city life seems like a dream I had long ago. This place is so foreign from anything I have ever known, and yet, it is immediately comfortable. In the last three days I have seen (in various capacities): chickens, peacocks, pigs, cats, spiders, bugs, toads, whales, fish, lizards, exotic birds, and an abundance of plant-life. For whatever reason, it all feels so natural to me. Of course I walk down a dirt path and step over a chicken to get through. Of course! And yet, I have never really been around chickens, and I have certainly never awoken to the god-awful sound they make early in the morning. This is all new and fresh and raw. So why does it feel so familiar?

I’ve been writing a lot, but I do not have WiFi in my cabin (because I live in a cabin now) so I haven’t been able to post. I’m hoping that things settle down with my money job (real estate) and my life job (wwoofing) soon, so I can return to regular updates. After all, Hawaii has already been a wild ride, and I have lots to say about it. But, for now, I leave you with pictures taken at the Maui Airport and the Kona Airport. This place is ridiculous. Utterly, unabashedly ridiculous.

Image

View from the Maui Airport

Image

View from the Kona Airport

3 comments on “And… I’m In Hawaii!

  1. Pointes of View
    February 9, 2014

    Great pics!

  2. Lena
    February 10, 2014

    Bird has left the cage. Fly, Dee, fly.

  3. deebeider
    February 11, 2014

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 8, 2014 by in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , .
