THE DRIFTER CHRONICLES

City Girl Gone Wandering

When Reality Strikes

In the span of a handful of weeks I have finished college, quit my job, and sent out invitations to my going away party. I have also found a friend to take over my sublet, said goodbye to several people I will probably never see again, and had my first post on Medium published in various collections.

I guess it’s official: I’m really moving to Hawaii.

I’m so used to escaping my life through fantasy that the impending reality of this move sometimes gets muddled. But it’s here. It’s happening. Change is coming, and shit just got real.

I’m incredibly excited, but also burdened with a preposterous amount of nostalgia.

Perhaps that is why I visited my first apartment building yesterday.

Then (circa 2006): 190254_1008421765979_7222_nNow (circa yesterday): cbffcc8e75bf11e3896e126b552b7add_8

“Wheel to the storm, and fly…”

6 comments on “When Reality Strikes

  1. Lena
    January 9, 2014

    Nostalgia adds coloures to our life, different shadows of grey and light violet. New events will look even brighter on such a background. Besides your are taking the most precious thing from New York – your memories.

  2. deebeider
    January 9, 2014

    Very true. Also, the New York skyline has always looked most beautiful from a distance. Perhaps that is also the case for the city itself.

  3. Pointes of View
    January 31, 2014

    I started in Hawaii (years ago) and now I’m heading East. Enjoy the journey!

  4. deebeider
    January 31, 2014

    Thanks! How funny that we’re traveling in reverse. Where in Hawaii were you situated?

    Best of luck to you and your family on your own journey! I relate to a lot of what you’re writing about on your blog–knowing that what you’re doing is right, but grieving over the loss of a place that you love. I look forward to following your move!

  5. Pointes of View
    January 31, 2014

    I grew up in Honolulu and left after college. My family is still there, so I visit often-ish. Thanks for the good wishes!

  6. alohaina
    April 25, 2015

    I started reading into your archives. I am exactly where you were at about a year ago. I just finished school and I’m picking up for a permanent move to Hawaii.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 5, 2014 by in Musings and tagged , , , , .
